top of page

Explorers Present Awards, Honor Community

Nate Iversen Photos

Jul 22, 2020

Members of the Chamberlain Middle School Explorers held an awards ceremony the evening of Monday, July 13, at Explorers Field in Chamberlain. A check for $1,500 was presented to the City of Chamberlain to assist with repairs on the American Creek fishing pier which was damaged during the 2019 flooding. The Explorers had previously raised funds to construct the pier. Pictured with the check are, top photo, from left, Tino Lopez, Sutton Powers, Dakota Munger, Eli Donovan, Sandler Wiekamp, Grady Olson, Chase Hopkins, Maddex Gilman, Rayden Haak, Nathan Rademacher, Noah Bury, Sawyer Donovan, Cruz Soulek, Blaine
Krenke, Devyn Anderson, Chamberlain Mayor Chad Mutziger, William Hanzlik, Aadyn Hosek, Chamberlain City Commissioner Tim Thomas and Kooper Steilen. Explorers President Sawyer Donovan, center left photo, right, presents Chamberlain Elementary School Principal Rocky Almond with a copy of Doug Knust’s book, “Man Stuff.” Almond had previously started up a young men’s organization himself and frequently offered Knust advice in forming the Explorers. Public recognition and a copy of the book were also presented to former Chamberlain Schools Superintendent Dr. Deb Johnson, who was unable to attend the event.
Knust credited Dr. Johnson, who had previously served as the middle school principal, for her work in ensuring the success of the Explorers. Members of the eighth grade Explorers were presented with copies of Knust’s book and honored for their time in the Explorers and service to the community. The eighth graders also presented Knust with a signed baseball jersey, bottom photo, from left, Doug Knust, Tino Lopez, Maddex Gilman, Nathan Rademacher, Kooper Steilen, Dakota Munger, Chase Hopkins, Noah Bury, Devyn Anderson, Cruz Soulek, Blaine Krenke, Sandler Wiekamp, Rayden Haak and Sawyer Donovan. Explorers unable to
attend and not photographed were Carter Santiago, Connor Hickey, Eden Thigh, Everardo Skunk, Jackson Cutt, Levi Miller, Riley Fox, Breckyn Harmon, Charlie Miller, Hayden Handel, Jacob Heron, Kelby Steen, Kenyon McClosky, Loren Sazue, Ronin Urban, Stevie Thomas, Ami Carpenter, Cannon Speer, Cannon Thomas, Chance Blum, Isaac Shepherd, Jerome Big Eagle, London Houska, Tate Johnson and Xavier Donovan.

bottom of page