top of page

Chamberlain High School’s One-Act of ‘The Little Prince’Advances To State Competition

Feb 5, 2020

Many of South Dakota’s finest high school actors will gather in Sioux Falls for the 64th annual State High School One-Act Play Festival. The 2020 State One-Act Play Festival will be held Feb. 6-8 at O’Gorman High School in Sioux Falls. Members of the Chamberlain High School one-act, “The Little Prince,” won Region V on Jan. 28 in Pierre. Breckin Steilen, Hayes Miller, Mariah Koenig, Sequoia Altamirano, Scotland Donovan and Jack Swanson brought home outstanding performer awards. The CHS one-act will perform at Sioux Falls O’Gorman at 4:30 p.m. on Thursday, Feb. 6. The annual State One-Act Play Festival, sponsored by the South Dakota High School Activities Association, is the state tournament for high school drama competition. This year, the SDHSAA State One-Act Play Festival will bring together 46 of the best South Dakota high school theatre productions in a festival setting. During the state festival, each qualifying school will perform their play for the public and a panel of three judges.
Awards presented at the festival will include overall “Superior Plays,” “Outstanding Performers” and “Outstanding Ensembles.”
The 2020 State One-Act Play Festival will showcase performances by 13 Class “A” schools presenting plays which are serious in nature; 16 Class “B” plays which are humorous in nature; while the plays presented by 17 Class “AA” schools may be either seriousor humorous. Members of the CHS one-act group include, from left, back, Caden Sharping, Delaney Peterson, Sequoia Altamirano, Abbie Hough, Derrick Rasmusson, Student Director Brooklyn Thomas, Caleb Borah, Paige Endres, Maxwell Kelsey, Aurora Wright and Directors Trisha Burke and Lynn Herder; second row, Rozalyn Larsen, Jack Swanson, Saylor Lippert, Mariah Koenig, Scotland Donovan, RaeAnna Lewis, Chynna Story and Brynn Mahrt and front, Hayes Miller, Katie Steckelberg, Breckin Steilen and Darynn Burke. Not pictured are Aries Fox and Alyssa Allen.

-Submitted Photo

bottom of page